Main Menu

Wheaton College going for NCAA III basketball crown... Division II champs in 1957

Wheaton College men’s basketball in NCAA III Final Four

For the first time in program history, the Wheaton College Thunder men’s basketball team has advanced to the NCAA Division III Men’s Basketball Final Four! Wheaton defeated CCIW foe Augustana in the Sweet 16 before rallying for a thrilling 91-87 victory in the National Quarterfinals with 62 points from senior Aston Francis. The Thunder will travel to Fort Wayne, Indiana this weekend to take on the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh at the Allen County War Memorial Coliseum.

Friday – 6 PM (EST) – Swarthmore vs. Christopher Newport (
Friday – 8 PM (EST) – Wheaton vs. UW-Oshkosh (
Saturday – 7 PM (EST) – National Championship Game (CBS Sports)

Wheaton College in 1957 won the first NCAA Division II Championship tournament defeating  Kentucky Wesleyan College. 89 -57. Mel Peterson of Wheaton was the tournament MVP. The head coach was Lee Pfund. They also returned to the Final Four in 1958. 

Related articles at XPian News:

Founder, Editor & Publisher at

John Ross on Saturday, April 23, 2016 launched XPian News, a part of  Daybreak Communications, Inc. Ross is the facilitator of Aurora Christian Ministry Network (ACMN) and a member of the Fox Valley Christian Ministerial Alliance (FVCMA). He serves on the boards of Wayside Cross Ministries and the Kiwanis Club of Aurora. As a follower of Jesus, he has been for some 40 years a member of First Presbyterian Church - Aurora. He has an M.A. - Christian Leadership from Wheaton College Graduate School and undergraduate at Trinity International University.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *